Ethylene glycol is not my friend

My parents visited me all last week and helped me paint the walls of my house, among other tasks. Before this, I don’t remember painting interior walls since maybe high school, but I did remember that it stinks. I definitely needed the help, and now my house looks much better. Thanks to the paint fumes, my eyes were sometimes too irritated to see the improvement. We also got to enjoy laboring in the Florida heat without air conditioning, but the fresh air was worth it.

There were some awful color choices made before I moved in. This spot had some shelves used to store home A/V equipment. A television was in the corner on the right. Seemed like a very poor place for it.

The shelves were removed, and the walls prepped for painting.

I somehow missed taking a picture of the finished walls, and now I’ve got disheveled stuff in the way. The spot in the previous pictures is on the left in this one. I’m still figuring out where to put everything, although this room is much less cluttered now, a the week since this picture was taken.

Evil Harlequin

Evil Harlequin

This large unsettling image on a bedroom wall had to go.

Harlequin meets Kilz

Harlequin meets Kilz

My father put the first coat of the Kilz primer over the offending image.

It was still visible under the primer, so we gave it two coats to be sure it would never be seen again.

The room is much less creepy without the harlequin.

The website of the Kilz manufacturer, Masterchem Industries, claims that the product we used has a “very mild odor”. So mild that a good whiff made me feel like vomiting.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Ethylene glycol is not my friend”

  1. Jim Says:

    I could not sleep in the room with that thing on the wall! It looks much better painted. Thanks, Joe!

Leave a Reply

