Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 autofocus is good

Just a quick follow-up to a previous post. I got a lot of use out of my Canon mount Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 lens with upgraded firmware when my nephew Liam and my brother Jason came for a visit to Central Florida. I previously thought the autofocus wasn’t as good as it is with Canon lenses, but I was wrong. It is about as good as my Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 on the same camera, an EOS 70D. Neither lens gave me perfect autofocus, but I take extra pictures to minimize that trouble. I also used the continuous autofocus feature (Canon calls it “AI Servo” because marketing I suppose) a lot in an attempt to keep up with a four year old. The focus quality seems worse in low light than compared with focusing just once; this seems to be an issue with the camera. Overall, I’m really happy with the lens.

Tags:

One Response to “Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 autofocus is good”

  1. The Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8, firmware updates, and auto-focus | Jovian Outpost Says:

    […] Here is the quick summary: the firmware update for the Canon mount Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 (2014-8-22) did more than add support for the EOS C100, as claimed by Sigma. It also changed the lens ID from 137 to 150, and seems to have improved auto-focus accuracy, although not precision. Update: The auto-focus is as good as a Canon EF 85mm f/1.8. […]

Leave a Reply

